Tired of sending emails that you really should not have sent?
A few months ago, I wrote about Mail Goggles – a feature in Google’s gmail that, when enabled, will ask you a series of math questions before sending your email. The idea is that if you are not in the right state of mind to solve a few math problems, you might want to reconsider sending the email you just wrote.
Now Google has added another feature to gmail – Undo Send – that puts a five to 10-second hold on all outgoing messages. So if you sent an email with a typo, or to the wrong person, or one in which you said something you should not have, Undo Send can help you out.
Gmail users can enable the Undo Send feature by going into their Labs settings (the green flask at the top of the screen) and turning it on. When enabled, every time you send an e-mail, you'll see an undo link at the end of the confirmation message that appears at the top of your inbox. Do nothing and the email is sent. Click undo and the email reverts back to your compose screen.
Undo Send cannot pull back an email that has already gone out. But using it with Mail Goggles should help you stop sending embarrassing – or costly – emails.